Just when you think something can be too good to be true and a band such as The Rolling Stones who have been in the spotlight since 1962 release their first new song in about 8 years. What better time to discover this song when my hands and plans are of course tied up given circumstances which I will not utter here and I get a long weekend off?!

After listening to it about 5 times in the space of 2 hours, after digesting most of the lyrics (as many as I could remember) and trying to figure it out, I deduced that I suck at unravelling the meanings behind songs lol – I like to rely on intuition to do this rather than word of mouth and to more so imagine what the story of the song is about.

Despite only having been a fan of the stones for under a decade, I can hardly say that my reaction to the release of “Living in a Ghost Town” would quell the awe inspired fells of a worthy fan who’s been shoulder to shoulder with their music since back in the day of their shall we say, “Blues era” and when psychedelic rock was still really just becoming a thing. However, getting to experience the effects of their music even after over a half a century of involvement from them to date speaks volumes about what kind of musicians we’re seeing here.

As I try to “paint in black” for you some of their song titles that have completely changed how we listen to music today, while I think that their new single will never sound similar to the likes of Gimme’ Shelter, Sympathy for the Devil’ or one of their earliest biggest releases “Can’t Get No Satisfaction”, it’s easy to understand why and it’s because as time slips by, with it moves the music and with each decade and generation, new musical styles are introduced. I think this is a great way of experiencing music and understanding why music plays such a massive role in our every day lives because we’re not simply hearing different styles and different notes, we’re hearing what they the band are growing up through around at the time and how their lives unfold while leaving no stone unturned as they tour for their fans and develop as musicians.